ESP dSeries Workload Automation

View Only
  • 1.  Exploring DE with Powershell Part 1

Posted Jun 27, 2020 03:14 AM
    Edited by Andy Reimer Jun 27, 2020 03:29 PM
    First, I'm no expert with Powershell; I know enough to get by.
    Second, I worked through a bunch of this in order to solve some of my own problems. I don't know if this will solve any of yours, but hopefully it is helpful.
    Third, I use Powershell but I don't think there is anything here that couln't be accomplished in PERL or several other scripting languages.

When I started working with DE, we were already in the practice of doing a daily export of all artifacts (Appl, Events, Javascript, etc). We have a scheduled job that calls imexutil.bat and exports everything available to us. The original intended purpose was to be a backup in case something was deleted and needed to be imported back in. I would also use this export to do things like search for an email address. I could find the jobs that send emails to specific people, but it involved a few steps. Because the exported files have no file type, I would have to tell Notepad++ that the language was XML. Then I'd have to use the XMLTools plugin to lay out the XML in a more human readable format (pretty print), then collapse all the nodes, do my search and only then could I easily see the job name.  Useful, but a bit cumbersome

I figured there had to be an better way, and since I knew Powershell can read, parse, and modify xml, I leaned into that direction. Enough background, here is the nuts and bolts.

You need to export your artifacts. That is covered in the documentation here.
    You probably want a good text editor with some XML specific features. I use Notepad++ with the XMLTools plugin installed.  This will allow you to familiarize yourself with the layout of the XML.