Rally Software

View Only
Expand all | Collapse all

User Stories from child projects in team board not rolling up to parent team board

• 1.  User Stories from child projects in team board not rolling up to parent team board

Posted May 12, 2020 10:53 AM
    Hi there, 

I have been using rally for quite a few months now within my team but one thing that is really bugging us is the fact user Stories from child projects in team board do not roll up to parent team board. 

I have set it up so we have our team as the parent project and then there is a child projects underneath for each of my team members. The idea being we can see what people are doing at a individual level and at a team level.

I would therefore like the user stories from what i call our individual team boards to roll up to the parent team board but no matter what i do i can't seem to get this working 

All i want to do is understand what everyone is working on, set WIP limits at a individual level and at a team level and gain some basic reporting like throughput and cycle time at an individual level and team level 

Please help

Thanks
    Jack

------------------------------
    Jack

• 2.  RE: User Stories from child projects in team board not rolling up to parent team board
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted May 12, 2020 11:16 AM
    Hi @Jack Tomkinson,

The team board is designed to work only in the one project and not to traverse up or down the project hierarchy. It was intended for a 'single' team. If you want to get a summary of the activities, you can use something like the 'Custom Board' app in the app catalog and then you can do multi-team views. You can also swimlane on people if you wish.

If you want to do this on a sprint by sprint basis, then the Iteration Status board is a good place to start. WIP limits are often managed by the team at your daily standup.