Rally Software

View Only
  • 1.  linking working item types, i.e. link a defect to another defect

Posted Sep 15, 2020 10:23 AM
    I know that you can link/connect/associate a Defect to a Story by simply adding the Defect to the Story.  But what about other types of links?  Specifically, I have 2 or 3 defects that are all related.  How do I link those so that a developer knows to address all of them when starting one.  Or other types of links, i.e. related to, child/parent, etc.  I've see these in all other apps I've used.  I'm fairly new to Rally.

• 2.  RE: linking working item types, i.e. link a defect to another defect
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Sep 15, 2020 12:44 PM
    Hi Scott.

Defects are not a hierarchical object so you can't organize defects in a parent/child relationship.

You can organize defects in 'Defect Suites'. A Defect Suite can include many defects, so you can group them together this way. BUT.... a defect suite can also be added to an iteration and so you need to decide what is the actual purpose of organizing your defects together. If the purpose is to schedule them together as a 'package deal' to an iteration - then including in a defect suite seems appropriate. If your purpose of grouping them together is simply for an organizational reason, not a scheduling reason - then it's not too obvious whether you should organize them in suites. You can technically organize them in suites while not scheduling the suite to the iteration, hence scheduling the defects individually, but it can be confusing, unless you standardize this practice with your team and probably other teams.

If your challenge is how to locate certain defects then probably an easy enough practice is that you create a filter that locates them (such as by Owner, perhaps in combination with other fields), you can also save that as a View so that you can get back on that list with '1-click' .