CA Service Management

View Only
  • 1.  Service Desk: Request UI Customizations

Posted May 06, 2016 02:43 PM

I'm new to Service Desk Manager development, but have been a full-stack web developer for more than a decade.  I see a lot of opportunity to customize Service Desk Requests to fit our company, but I need a little more control over some UX stuff. I can see that there are some opportunities to get my hooks in, but I want to make sure that I stay within supported patterns and best practices.  Any guidance from you folks who have experience will be much appreciated!

1.a. Can I make edits to the css files found in the \CA\ServiceDeskManager\sdk\css directory?

1.b. If so, how does that impact our upgrade path?

1.c. How does that impact support?

2.a I have been asked to apply specific styling or client behavior to the "properties" that are configurable per "Request Area".  For example, a date-time picker, or input format validation (i.e. ip address format).  I an accomplish this via Javascript/jQuery.  Can I make edits to the js files found in the \CA\ServiceDeskManager\sdk\sdk directory?

2.b. If so, how does that impact our upgrade path?

2.c. How does that impact support?

3. Is it common to change the "home" page for the "employee" user type?  Ours is fairly busy and we wanted to hide some things and reorganize others.  During an upgrade, how many of those pages get changed?  Would my changes get lost or is it mostly the platform that gets updated whereas the htmpl pages stay the same?

Thanks again!!!

• 2.  Re: Service Desk: Request UI Customizations

Posted May 06, 2016 04:11 PM

Hi MIchael,  We do not use the SDK folder for customizations.  We do have a method of customizing the application in a supported way, which is by using what we call WSP - Web Screen Painter.  I would recommend taking a look at the information about using it on our documentation wiki site located here: