CA Service Management

View Only
  • 1.  is it possible to update an Asset Model via Web Service?

Posted Dec 24, 2015 05:24 AM

I tried to and received the error

"You cannot change the model associated with the asset.",

so I guess the answer is no, anyway I'd like to receive a confirm.

Thanks

• 2.  Re: is it possible to update an Asset Model via Web Service?

Posted Dec 28, 2015 07:59 AM

Hi Alessandro - is the asset ONLY an asset or is it also a CI?  In other words, when you look at it in the SDM GUI, what are the "is asset" and "is CI" values set to?   If it is an asset that was created by asset management (and not by CMDB or GRLoader), it may not allow the change to the model on it because the asset may not be owned or managed by CMDB.

Hope this helps,

Jon I.

• 3.  Re: is it possible to update an Asset Model via Web Service?

Posted Dec 28, 2015 08:15 AM

I am new to the product and not familiar with all those acronyms (CI, SDM, CMDB),

I can however tell for sure that on the database the is_asset field equals 1 and the is_CI field equals 0

• 4.  Re: is it possible to update an Asset Model via Web Service?

Posted Dec 28, 2015 10:51 AM

Hi Alessandro, sorry about that, no worries.  Let me clarify:

SDM - Service Desk Manager

CMDB - Configuration Management DataBase  (part of Service Desk Manager)

CI - Configuration Item