Clarity

View Only
  • 1.  How to View XML Built by Custom GEL Script?

Posted Mar 27, 2018 11:12 AM

First, I'm a relative newbie to GEL and building CAPPM Processes, so if this is kind of a dumb question, sorry!

That having been said, I'm trying to build a GEL script (in DEV, I'm not crazy) that builds an XML file and then imports same, and will add Approve Time permissions to a user based upon a recordset generated by an SQL query.  The query is no problem, and I'm able to get the GEL script to validate so I can execute the process.  Problem is, once I execute the process, the permissions aren't added to the intended user.

I'm assuming there's something wrong with the XML content, so I want to debug it.  But I can't see it, because the process completes successfully so there are no messages I can review.  Hopefully there's a setting in the Process definition that I can enable, or a specific log that I can view, to see the XML and try and figure out why it's not working.  (If I manually build the XML file, it imports and achieves the desired result, so I know it's possible -- and that's why I assume that my GEL-built XML is malformed.)

Does anyone know how I can see that XML?  Any advice will be much appreciated!

• 2.  Re: How to View XML Built by Custom GEL Script?

Posted Mar 28, 2018 06:30 AM

I assume that the Gel script already has the code for logging(gel:log) and yet, the process does not log messages.

What is the CA PPM Version? I guess the process logs not being available is due to the newly introduced option in v15.3 to restrict Gel Script logs( available in Clarity System Administration(CSA)). You may refer section New CSA Setting for Error Logging at below link and see if that is appropriate for this case.

Change Impact and Upgrade (On Premise) - CA PPM - 15.3 - CA Technologies Documentation 

• 3.  Re: How to View XML Built by Custom GEL Script?

Posted Mar 28, 2018 06:48 AM