Clarity

View Only
  • 1.  What are some early intervention solutions you've implemented?

Posted Jun 01, 2017 07:38 PM

Hi Everyone,

While I've been using PPM for just over 3 years now, I've learned the ins and outs of getting data in and out that tell a story of "what is", and even using basic logic I've seen a lot of "what was vs what is" but I don't always see or hear a lot about solutions that tell us "what will be". By that I mean using information coming in to PPM that trigger early warning signs to businesses about possible upcoming problems before they actually happen, letting the system tell you rather than needing to interpret it yourself from extracted data.

Has anyone implemented anything (portlets, reports, or otherwise) that helps keep them and their business ahead of the pitfalls of project management? I am interested to hear about them to learn and spark some ideas of my own!

Matthew

• 2.  Re: What are some early intervention solutions you've implemented?

Posted Jun 02, 2017 09:57 AM

As a starter, start with tracking the very basic info, e.g.

Timesheets

What would happen if the timesheets are not approved on time? - Build a process/portlet around identifying which ones are approved late

Projects

Is there any missing information at project level? - like Cost Plan not created, Status reports not filled, projects not baselined

Resources

Look for info around missing resource information, like rates, financial info, etc (a portlet would help)

Look for info regarding how resource booking is conducted - e.g., a role is allocated to a project and it is never replaced with a resource (when it should really have been done on time)

NJ

• 3.  Re: What are some early intervention solutions you've implemented?

Posted Jun 04, 2017 06:25 PM

Hey NJ,

Thank you. Good responses. We've definitely got all of that, but I still think those are great answers.