DX NetOps

View Only
  • 1.  Spectrum Network Configuration Manager Specifications

Posted Jul 17, 2020 02:09 PM
    Our organization is exploring the use of Spectrum NCM for collecting/archiving/management of device configurations for devices like Palo Alto firewalls, FireEye, and Gigamon.  I have no experience with NCM but have a few questions.
    - My understanding is that NCM device configurations are stored in the SpectoServer database. I've been asked, are the device configurations encrypted, and also how many device configurations can be stored (thousands? tens of thousands?)
    - How much effort is it to use the NCM extension utility and create the necessary Perl scripts, etc., to collect configs from the above listed devices?
    Thanks for any assistance you may be able to provide.

• 2.  RE: Spectrum Network Configuration Manager Specifications
    Best Answer

Posted Jul 20, 2020 05:54 AM
    Edited by Christopher Hackett Jul 24, 2020 04:17 PM
    These aspects are described under documentation, NCM section. Here more details on that.
    Device Configurations are stored in the SSdb as models. By default, a history of the last 25 changes are kept for each device that has NCM configured. The value is configurable. If between 2 consecutive captures, nothing changes on the device configuration, this does not count as a change. There's an attributed that stores last time the verification was completed. 

The device configurations are encrypted.