AutoSys Workload Automation

View Only
  • 1.  Configure agent for primary and shadow?

Posted Jun 27, 2017 03:12 PM

I am really new to Autosys and trying to figure something out that I am sure it most likely easy once you understand it. Our Autosys environment is setup with a primary and a shadow scheduler. If the primary dies, the shadow of course takes over. Looking at an agents agentparm.txt and the communication.manageraddress configuration, I only see the primary listed and not the shadow.

Is this normal?

Should both be in there?

How else would the agent know to hit the shadow instead of the primary?

#
    # Added by Manager
    #
    communication.manageraddress_1=autosit1.********.com
    communication.managerid_1=AES_SCH
    communication.managerport_1=7507
    communication.socket_1=plain

It seems like even if you have the scheduler setup for HA with a primary and a shadow, it's useless unless you configure the agent for both. Am I correct?

Thanks!

• 2.  Re: Configure agent for primary and shadow?

Posted Jun 27, 2017 04:43 PM

Not normal to not have Shadow info after the failover. Shadow communicates the manager change to the agent after taking over. The agent receiver log shows CONTROL MGR AFMs from Shadow scheduler. One would normally see the following in the agentparm.txt after the failover.

communication.manageraddress_2=<shadow>

communication.managerid_2=AES_SCH
    communication.managerport_2=7507
    communication.socket_2=plain

Is the shadow able to execute jobs on these agents?

Thank you,

Chandru

• 3.  Re: Configure agent for primary and shadow?

Posted Jun 28, 2017 11:00 AM