CA Client Automation

View Only
  • 1.  DMS scripting - Execute command on Linux

Posted Oct 03, 2019 12:21 PM
    Hi all,

New DMS scripting question from me.
    When running Execute commands against Windows, the convention seems to be "cmd /c <details of command>" as a format.

Is there some guidance on executing Linux commands - do they need a shell prefix or anything else, or is the command entered 'clean'?

E.g. if I just want to run an ls command:-

Execute("ls")
    Execute("sh ls")
    Execute("bash ls")

Kind regards,
    Bob.

------------------------------
    Never trust a man who when left alone with a tea cosy doesn't try it on.

• 2.  RE: DMS scripting - Execute command on Linux
    Best Answer

Posted Oct 03, 2019 12:35 PM

Hi Bob,

Unfortunately I've had little experience running 'execute' functions in Linux, I've done it but many years ago for one project I can think of. In any case I think the reasons to do so would be the same. To be clear, it's not necessary to use the 'cmd /c' convention, there are two primary reasons I do it:

• Many of the commands I use from scripts are CADSMCMD 'batch' commands, which often require an environment variable (set sdcmd_continue=on) to be set first so it continues if there are errors, so I execute 'cmd /c sdcmd_continue=on&&cadsmcmd ...' to run both commands in the same environment.
    • I use a redirect (> or >>) frequently to save the output of my commands to a file either for logging purposes or for further processing.

In some cases my scripting examples may include 'execute' functions which call 'cmd /c' even though they don't fit either of the scenarios above. This is simply because I've become used to using that method. I suppose in such cases I'm wasting some resources by spawning an unnecessary shell.

Steve McCormick