CA Client Automation

View Only
  • 1.  Deploy software (using a .cmd file) and run as local user on client

Posted Jun 16, 2014 02:01 PM

Note: Client computers are running Windows 7 Professional SP1

Hi,

I'm new to ITCM and am currently working on creating software deployment packages for use within our company. The way we tend to do it is via .cmd files which run commands to install the software and also add error checking (some of our software doesn't have installers so we use this to copy files to the correct location).

I am creating a package for Office 2010 which to install runs a .cmd file that:

1) Opens a web page to explain to the user what is happening and what steps they may need to perform; and

2) Starts the installer with the /config switch and what config.xml file to use.

Unfortunately the web page won't load as the deployment is run in the Interactive Services Detection "desktop". Is there any way I can send a software deployment to a client computer and have it run as the logged in user? I don't want to just add it to the catalogue and let the users order it as we want to oversee upgrades to prevent unnecessary calls to us or extra work because a user made a mistake or a user orders it when they shouldn't be.

If you need any more information, please let me know and I will respond with it and update this post.

Thanks,

Josh

• 2.  Re: Deploy software (using a .cmd file) and run as local user on client

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jun 17, 2014 12:57 AM

Dear Josh,

Please review "caf help setcreds". The caf setcreds command allows particular services to run under specific user accounts.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Samad

• 3.  Re: Deploy software (using a .cmd file) and run as local user on client

Posted Jun 17, 2014 04:02 AM

Hi Samad,