Automic Workload Automation

View Only
  • 1.  AWI update to newer version

Posted Jul 08, 2020 12:55 PM
    Hi team,

We are running AWI 12.1.3 on Automation Engine version 12.1.3. Now because of some bugs i tried updating to AWI 12.1.8. I copied the awi.war file in the webapps directory of tomcat and restarted the tomcat. But after restarting the AWI version is still the old one. Am I missing something or doing something wrong. 

------------------------------
    Thanks,
    Kumar

• 2.  RE: AWI update to newer version
    Best Answer

Posted Jul 08, 2020 02:33 PM
    Edited by KumarRahul605332 Jul 09, 2020 03:46 AM
    I've never had that problem.  But I've always done the following on our windows installation;
      (1) back up the old config file. (...\webapps\awi\config\uc4config.xml)
      (2) delete the old war file (tomcat deletes the app)
      (3) copy in the new war file (tomcat re-creates the app)
      (4) re-install the config file

I am not a tomcat expert, so I didn't really know what I was doing when I started using this procedure.  But it always works for me.  Maybe deleting the app first is necessary to clear out something it holds onto?

Pete Wirfs
    SAIF Corporation
    Salem Oregon USA

• 3.  RE: AWI update to newer version

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jul 09, 2020 01:12 AM
    I've had to do hundreds of installs up to now, and never ran into that - if the version hasn't changed in the AWI log and the "about", I would re-deploy it (following the steps Pete lays out) and if it still shows with the wrong version, re-download the war file just to confirm. As a secondary test, I'd install it side-by-side (rename the war file) and see if the logs/about show differently.

• 4.  RE: AWI update to newer version

Posted Jul 09, 2020 03:51 AM
    Thanks a ton the steps provided by you worked. Earlier I was overwriting the awi.war file and for some reason it wasnt working.