Automic Workload Automation

View Only
  • 1.  Data Encryption

Posted Nov 08, 2019 09:56 AM
    Hi All,

I am new to Automic tool and have few questions regarding object types JOBF and FTPJOB (RA FTP).

1: as i go through the documentation, JOBF requires agent to be available on source and destination agents, however FTPJOB works without an agent installation. please confirm if this understanding is wrong.

2: what are the scenarios to use these 2 object types.
    3: how data encryption works in both the cases.
    4: for JOBF, we only need Automic agent to be installed and for FTPJOB, we need RA FTP agent to be installed on AE server.
    is there any other requirement we need to fulfil to use them.
    5: in the FTPJOB template i see that SFTP can be used as protocol, what protocol JOBF uses?

Thanks
    Suhas

• 2.  RE: Data Encryption

Posted Nov 08, 2019 10:09 AM
    ​Hi.

1: this assumption is correct.

2: You use JOBF when you want to use the Automic native file transfer, with all it's advantages and disadvantages. You use the RA FTP agent when your remote target has an FTP/SFTP (and I think also) FTPS server and you can not, or do not want to install an Automic agent over there.

3. For JOBF, nobody can truly know, at least not for sure. It's a proprietary software and they never released independent reviews, so the crypto can't be vouched for. If in doubt, tack it onto a VPN, then you define the level of crypto. The RA FTP agent is based on a somewhat recent open source Java library and implements open crypto standards that are negotiated between the agent and the remote end, with crypto ranging from "nothing" for plain FTP to AES for SFTP. Again, tacking on a VPN can secure otherwise insecure protocols such as plain FTP.

4. Not really, no. An automation engine and two operating system agents for JOBF, or the engine and an RA agent for the other thing.