Automic Workload Automation

View Only
  • 1.  How to start with Automic?

Posted Dec 09, 2019 11:31 AM
    Hello Guys,

due to my job as trainee I have to change sometimes the departement. In the new one I have to work with Automic and I have no idea where to start with. I have no knowledge or experience about Automic and my first goal is to move a file from one folder to  another in UNIX. 
    Do you have some tips or a clue where to start? The topic itself is a littlebit "overwhelming". 

I am thankful for everyone who can help

Best regards
    Alex

• 2.  RE: How to start with Automic?

Posted Dec 09, 2019 02:32 PM
    The product is very flexible and allows every shop to implement its own best practices.  So my first recommendation is to seek local training from someone who knows your installation so you will understand the local best practices.

------------------------------
    Pete

• 3.  RE: How to start with Automic?

Posted Dec 10, 2019 05:22 AM
    Hi

first thank your line manager - its similar as sitting someone into a plane cockpit without even a driving license for a car :-)

as Pete explained - in Automic there are mostly 10 ways to archieve a goal - 2 are good, 3 are ok and 5 are worse. The bad thing is that the worse solutions pop up after years - when hundereds of objects are affected....
    Cite of a colleague: There are many ways to design a UC4 Job bad :-)

I would first of all ask for a Training - in best case from Automic or an automic consultant - there are training classes offered.
    As far as I remember they were called Basics, Basics2 (advanced), Admin and Script.

Depending on your existing implementations I would attend at least Basics 1 and 2 and optional Script.

Plan B: Training from someone who uses Automic in your company.
    Plan C: Training from one "who knows everything about Automic"
    Plan X: Training from someone who can spell "UC4" without mistakes...

:-)

cheers, Wolfgang

Support Info: