DX Unified Infrastructure Management

View Only
  • 1.  Logmon: needed advice regarding regex

Posted Apr 26, 2017 08:45 AM

Hi there,

I need some help creating a special Match Expression within the logmon probe (I am very new in regular expressions):

I'm trying to parse a reg file (Windows registry export) for a string. If the the string is NOT in the file, an alarm should appear.

For example: The content of the reg file could be like

This is just a registry file example
    --------------------------------------

[HKLM\Software\Microsoft\DirectX]
    "Version"="4.09.000.123.12229

"MyKey" = "22222222"

I created the following regular expression (with help of http://regexr.com/): /^((?!MyKey)[\s\S])*.$/

On the mentioned website the regular expression works fine - Removing one character from MyKey => match

But if I enter the expression in the "Match Expression" field and restart the probe, no alarm shows up.

Do anyone has an idea, why no alarm comes up?

Hope, someone has an idea/hint ...

Thanks

• 2.  Re: Logmon: needed advice regarding regex
    Best Answer

Posted Apr 26, 2017 09:56 AM

Logmon works on individual "lines" and not a whole file. As such, I would have expected that you would have gotten four hits on your sample file (it's 5 lines long and only one has the string).

Your first step is to set up the format tab such that the registry file looks like a single line. Essentially you need a marker that's at the beginning and end of the file. It's not clear how you are generating your registry file but you could change that process such that it copies some text to the beginning and end of hte file that you could use.

As an alternative, since you have to be generating this registry file some way, why not use that process to pare the file down some more or to actually include the logic you are looking for and have that process just leave a simple file behind containing FOUND or NOTFOUND for instance.