CA Service Management

View Only

Restrict to create ticket

king khan's profile image
king khan posted Oct 27, 2021 06:09 AM
Dear Members

We have a requirement for one of the service request that any user should not be able to submit a new request for the specific category if 3  tickets already submitted with same category in the system & currently active status.  If the no.of Active tickets for that category is less than 3, than ca system should allow the user to submit the request.

How can we achieve this from DP or any other way?
Aleksandar Stancic's profile image
Aleksandar Stancic
You can create PRE_VALIDATE SPEL trigger to check the current number of open requests per your condition and based on that allow save of request or return appropriate error message.
king khan
Dear @Aleksandar Aleksic 

Thanks for your reply,

Im new in Spell, Can you please help to write spell​ to validate  if number of request >= 5 && status =="OP", Then Display message "not allowed" else save the ticket.

Ill  modify it according to my requirement later.
hermann1815's profile image
hermann1815
Maybe it´s easier than you thought. You can use the code in your detailform (detail_cr.htmpl).

<script>
<PDM_IF "$args.id" == "0">
var countcr = 0;
<PDM_LIST PREFIX=crlist FACTORY="cr" WHERE="type='R' and status='OP'">
<PDM_IF "$crlist.id" \> "3">
countcr = 1;
</PDM_IF>
</PDM_LIST>

function preSaveTrigger() {
if (countcr == 1) {
   showAlertMsg("<font color='red'><b>You can´t save the ticket, because there are more than 3 tickets open!</b></font>");	
   }
}
</PDM_IF>
</script>​

I think it isn´t the best way to do it, but try it. Of course you have to add the category in the WHERE-Clause. It´s UNTESTED

It will fire when the user pressed the save button. But you can also check it directly on a new ticket:

<script>
var countcr = 0;
<PDM_LIST PREFIX=crlist FACTORY="cr" WHERE="type='R' and status='OP'">
countcr = 1;