Clarity Service Management

Configure Unified Self-Service to Support a New Language 

03-05-2015 02:04 AM

Unified Self-Service, by default, is supported in the following languages:

English, German, Spanish, French, Italian, Simplified Chinese, Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese, Finnish, Dutch, Swedish, and Danish.

However, you can configure Unified Self-Service to support additional languages.


Important! Review the following information before you configure Unified Self-Service to support additional languages:

  • CA Technologies does not provide support to any issues that may arise due to configurations made to support additional languages than the specified supported languages.
  • The new language changes shall be applicable only to the Unified Self-Service interface. If you integrated Unified Self-Service with CA Service Catalog, the widgets namely, My Requests, Status, Browse, My Assets, and Request Edit shall not available in the language you configured.
  • When you upgrade to any future versions of Unified Self-Service, the additional language configurations are not upgraded automatically. You must upgrade these changes manually.
  • The language support is limited only to those languages that Liferay supports. If a particular language is not supported by Liferay, then the Unified Self-Service interface also cannot be localized in this language.

The supported Liferay version is dependent on version of CA Service Management. For example, CA Service Management 14.1 supports Liferay 6.1.2 CE GA3. So, language support is limited only to the languages that Liferay 6.1.2 CE GA3 supports.

Follow these steps:

  1. Identify the new language that you want Unified Self-Service to support. For example, Norwegian.
    The following steps use Norwegian as an example to explain the configuration changes to be made.
  2. In Liferay, each language is associated with a properties file. Copy the properties file of the new language to the following folder on the computer where you installed Unified Self-Service:
  3. If you do not have the properties file, complete the following steps:
    1. Create a copy of existing properties file of any language (available in the same folder).
    2. Rename the file to suit the new language name convention. The file name must contain the ISO language code of the respective language.
      For example, for Norwegian, rename the file to, where Nb refers to the ISO language code of Norwegian.
    3. Replace the user interface strings with the appropriate language strings.
      For example, replace the text “Ask a Question” in English with the appropriate text in Norwegian.
  4. Open the Liferay-hook.xml (in a text editor such as, Notepad++) file available at the following location:
  5. Add the following entry under the <hook> tag:
  6. Save the changes.
  7. Open the (in a text editor such as, Notepad++) file available at the following location:
  8. Locate the key 'locales'.
    This key denotes the languages supported by commas.
  9. Modify the key value to add the new language code.
    For example, to add Norwegian, edit the locales key as follows: locales=de_DE,es_ES,fr_FR,it_IT,ja_JP,pt_BR,zh_CN,en_US,fi_FI,nl_NL,sv_SV,da_DA,nb_NO
  10. Save the changes.
  11. Restart the CA Unified Self-Service Server service.
    Unified Self-Service now supports the additional language.
  12. To view the user interface in the newly configured language, complete the following steps:
    1. Log in to Unified Self-Service.
    2. Click My Profile from the drop-down list in the top right of the page.
    3. Click Edit My Profile.
    4. Select the language and Save.

0 Favorited
0 Files

Tags and Keywords


03-11-2015 10:31 AM

Hi Paul,


A link to this community article was updated on the WIKi site too.



03-11-2015 09:08 AM

Great info!


Does it make any sense to have this information within a TECDOC as well?

03-07-2015 09:39 AM

Thank you for sharing this information sulni01

Related Entries and Links

No Related Resource entered.