If I select a Project's "Copy Users From" button, will it
A) Remove all existing Users from the Project. Only the copied Users will have access to the Project.
B) Add the copied Users to the Project. Existing Users will still have access to the Project.
Hi Matt, I found this:
Note: If the user already exists in the project, the highest permission is kept between the current and copied permissions.
Some benefits of adding users from existing projects include:
Yes, I read that page before I asked the question. But to me, the phrase "copy all permissions from an existing project" is ambiguous about whether that means "my Project will have exactly the same permissions as an existing Project (implying some current Users might be removed from my Project)" or "all permissions from the existing Project will be added to my Project (and existing Users on my Project will be left as-is)".
The less ambiguous answer is no, the user copy feature never remove users from the target project. The feature will a) add new users from the source project to the target if they don't already have permissions and b) increase the permission level of existing users in the target project if they have higher permissions in the source project (e.g. make a Viewer into an Editor if the user has Viewer in the target but Editor in the source). The user will always retain the higher permission, so if they have Editor in the target but Viewer in the source then they'll keep Editor.
Hope that helps.
Thanks, that was very helpful!