Layer7 API Management

• 1.  CA API Gateway external MFA implementation

Posted Mar 12, 2019 03:00 PM

Hello, I am new to CA API Gateway and would like to know if it is possible to implement my own MFA Authentication plugin to leverage any authentication service I want like Duo or RSA Adaptive Authentication. If it is possible, is there integration documentation for developers?

We currently have integration for CA SiteMinder via Radius with RSA Adaptive Authentication. That one is pretty straight forward. I'm trying to achieve the same with API Gateway.

• 2.  Re: CA API Gateway external MFA implementation
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Mar 12, 2019 06:39 PM

Dear rgonzalez22 ,

General speaking, yes, as soon as the external system provides APIs to do the jobs.

For example, facebook/google provide the oauth endpoints for oauth authorization, the gateway can integrate with those external authorization systems by calling their APIs.

You would need to implement policies on gateway, not installing a plugin, to assess the external APIs.

Gateway provides different assertions to access the downstream systems,

Message Routing Assertions - CA API Gateway - 9.4 - CA Technologies Documentation 

It seems RSA Adaptive Authentication provides soap APIs,  you can call those soap APIs via Route via HTTP(S) Assertion - CA API Gateway - 9.4 - CA Technologies Documentation

You might contact the gateway sales/pre-sales to discuss a complete solution for your use case.

Regards,

Mark

• 3.  Re: CA API Gateway external MFA implementation

Posted Mar 13, 2019 01:52 PM

Zhijun,

Thank you for your technical input. I will follow your references and approach the integration in that manner. I will report back in here if it was successful or not.

• 4.  Re: CA API Gateway external MFA implementation

Posted Apr 26, 2019 05:57 PM

Mark,

If I use Route via HTTP(s) assertion, do you think I can accomplish the following: