Layer7 API Management

• 1.  Logging HTTP Request Params to custom Log Sink File

Posted Jan 03, 2019 11:08 AM

Hi All,

I am new to CA API Gateway.

I am trying to create a policy fragment for logging the request parameters for the API.

I am using Javascript assertion and have written the code, which is working fine for a test API. Used the documentation to get the context variables from request params perspective.

On the API, I have created a Log Sink with default properties , meaning it's a file based logging.

As per documentation for JS assertion, involving logger , it suggests that logged parameters can only be written to Syslog .

logger.log(LOG_LEVEL.INFO, "The name from the request is: " + username); // Log to SSG logs.

How can I log it into the custom log sink file?

Thanks

Milind

• 2.  Re: Logging HTTP Request Params to custom Log Sink File
    Best Answer

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jan 03, 2019 11:30 PM

Hello Milind,

I was able to log messages to a custom log file from the Execute JavaScript Assertion with the Log Sink settings below:

The log file is created in the same directory as SSG logs (/opt/SecureSpan/Gateway/node/default/var/logs).

Best regards,

Seiji

• 3.  Re: Logging HTTP Request Params to custom Log Sink File

Posted Jan 04, 2019 05:23 AM

Thanks Seiji for the response.

The classpath (com.l7tech.external.assertions.js.features.bindings.JavaScriptLogger) mentioned in the filter is for JS assertion? Can you please confirm.

Also, do I need to add an Audit Detail Assertion in Policy Fragment?

Regards

Milind

• 4.  Re: Logging HTTP Request Params to custom Log Sink File

Broadcom Employee
    Posted Jan 06, 2019 07:28 PM

Hi Milind,

The classpath is for the logger binding object in JS assertion.

Execute JavaScript Assertion - CA API Gateway - 9.4 - CA Technologies Documentation 

No, you don't need to use any Audit Detail Assertions for the logger.log() method in JS assertion.