Automic Workload Automation

• 1.  I need to fail a job flow if the FTP connection is unsuccessful

Posted Apr 30, 2014 11:06 AM

What can I do to stop the job / fail it if my FTP does not return the 226 (complete and successful) code. I am NEW to this and it is my very first project to work on.

• 2.  I need to fail a job flow if the FTP connection is unsuccessful

Posted Apr 30, 2014 11:52 AM
    Hi Brian, Welcome to the Community. 

Which product and version are you using?

• 3.  I need to fail a job flow if the FTP connection is unsuccessful

Posted Apr 30, 2014 12:42 PM

UC4 Automic SP8 / the properties say dialog version 9.0 & build:402-991.

We updated to the Automic version from UC4 just last night. 

• 4.  I need to fail a job flow if the FTP connection is unsuccessful

Posted Apr 30, 2014 04:08 PM

Are you using the RA FTP agent, or are you issuing your own FTP commands? 

If you are issuing your own FTP commands, then I would consider writing a post-process script to scan the FTP report for the 226 message and modify the job's return code if it can't find it.  This logic could be put inside of an include object so it can be used by many jobs.

If you are using an RA FTP agent job it has built in error checking but the behavioral rules have to be customized for each command in the "command sequence" area.

• 5.  I need to fail a job flow if the FTP connection is unsuccessful

Posted May 01, 2014 01:39 PM

This is already written... I am just adding the error checking. It is written to issue it's own FTP commands. I am a .NET developer thrown in to learn something new, so this is very new to me. I see where the successful codes are returned in the statistics/ report. But I am not sure where to put logic to read them, or to halt the job. 

Would I create a new job in the workflow after this, or would it be held within?

Here is the Code for the calls... There are 6 blocks basically identical to this (different file names) to update 6 .csv files.