Symantec Access Management

• 1.  Custom Form Based Authentication (Layer7)

Posted Jan 25, 2018 03:35 PM
      |   view attached

Hello All,

So I'm new to the CA community, and kinda new to working with the Layer7. Ran into a little bit of a problem with authenticating users. My layer7 policy uses "Require HTTP Basic Credentials" assertion to verify the user's access to the URI by checking against the "Identity Provider". I was however told this will not work because basic auth is disabled on the browser and thus the authentication pop-up will never come up. I was thinking of using a Form-Based Authentication to have the user verify, but I can't think of how I will implement this on the Layer7. Any suggestion will help, thanks!

This is what I've so far, but "Require HTTP Basic Credentials" assertion will not work.

Attachment(s)

zip
    Auth_Template.xml.zip   3 KB 1 version

• 2.  Re: Custom Form Based Authentication (Layer7)

Posted Jan 29, 2018 07:52 AM

Are you trying to do user authentication for a API, or for a browser based application?  APIM (Layer7) is our API management tool, CA Single Sign-On is our tool for browser based user authentication and authorization.   Your note indicated it was within the browser so you may not be using the correct tool.   CA SSO can setup a forms based authentication which you can customize to your look and feel and send that to the browser when users have to authenticate.   It also offers numerous other ways to login such as windows authentication, kerberos, certificates, SAML, Oauth2, and basic authentication.

We are seeing both solutions used together for browser based applications that make REST calls.   (Single page apps) SSO authenticates the browser to the app, and then can generate an OIDC token that can be sent on the API requests that go to the APIM server.

• 3.  Re: Custom Form Based Authentication (Layer7)

Posted Jan 29, 2018 12:50 PM