Clarity PPM1

Expand all | Collapse all

How to remove collaboration managers via XOG

  • 1.  How to remove collaboration managers via XOG

    Posted 10-04-2016 09:38 AM

    Hi,

     

    as many others we have had the issue that projects change PM and collaboration manager were not an auto inherited right for PM's, so we made a proces to add collaboration manager right to current PM on project update of the PM field.

     

    A few years down the road now, we have realized that this has quite a significant impact on licenses.

     

    So now we need to clean up and run through all projects and make sure that only the current PM is collaboration manager.

     

    Since collaboration manager essentially is just a security group mapped the project and since you can open this group in the UI by replacing the ID in the URL i thought it might be possible to run XOG statements, updating all these groups using the complete="true" inside the members tag.

    something like this:

    <NikuDataBus xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:noNamespaceSchemaLocation="../xsd/nikuxog_group.xsd">
    <Header action="write" externalSource="NIKU" objectType="group" version="14.2.0.237"/>
    <groups>
    <group code="CLB_PROJECT_MANAGERS[+project_id]" isActive="true">
    <nls description="" languageCode="en" name=""/>
    <members complete="true">
    <resource userName="[user_name of current PM]"/>
    </members>
    <rights>
    <GlobalRights>
    </GlobalRights>
    <InstanceRights>
    </InstanceRights>
    <InstanceOBSRights>
    </InstanceOBSRights>
    </rights>
    </group>
    </groups>
    </NikuDataBus>

     

    but I can't really get it to work.

    XOG actually reports back that it has inserted records and not updated records, but i can't see that it has inserted any records.

     

    It would of course be possible to update all users and use complete="true" on their group memberships, but it seems like a much more complex task than updating the groups.

     

    Does anyone have experience with removing the collaboration manager right using group XOG.

     

    /Lennart



  • 2.  Re: How to remove collaboration managers via XOG

    Posted 10-26-2016 11:34 AM

    There are no ways to do this automatically that can be supported; modifying the users through the security groups is an action that should only be undertaken to resolve a technical product fault and only when advised to do so through a support ticket.  These security groups are not present in the UI for a reason.

     

    Of course, someone may still come forward with a way that worked for them (even if unsupported), I just thought it should be clear and that it is a risk to system integrity.



  • 3.  Re: How to remove collaboration managers via XOG

    Posted 10-27-2016 05:12 AM

    nordeaLennart wrote

     

    Does anyone have experience with removing the collaboration manager right using group XOG.

     

    Well its not a right, and thats a lot of the problem!   (most annoying that CA ignore ("de-prioritise") this long standing problem (design-fault) in the system).

     

    Some discussion here about setting/updating the CM via (unsupported?) XOG ; Update collaboration manager - (presumably that tells you nothing you don't already know though)

    If you were going to go "unsupported" though, then you could go "full-unsupported" and remove the "group members" via SQL?