Clarity PPM

Expand all | Collapse all

Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

  • 1.  Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-29-2015 03:40 PM

    This is something that is already addressed in version 14.3 but we're aware some customers are still upgrading to 14.2 instead, or due to previous version 'best practices' for upgrades that took place, have a tendency to still do each version upgrade on the way to a version like 14.3 in increments (e.g. from 13.3 to 14.1, 14.1 to 14.2, then 14.2 to 14.3) instead of letting the 14.3 upgrade procedure do it automatically from the prior version like 13.3 all the way through.

     

    In those other cases (upgrading only to 14.2, or doing it as part of an incremental upgrade process,) it is very important to know about the following problem and workaround, otherwise you can have users complaining about their saved filters being lost.  If that happens, then without a database backup, those filters could not be recovered again.

     

    Why some Saved filters, Saved Job Parameters, Saved Report Parameters are removed with the upgrade to 14.2?



  • 2.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-30-2015 01:11 AM

    Thanks for sharing this, Nick

     

    Regards

    NJ



  • 3.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-30-2015 01:29 PM

    Thanks for the tip Nick!

    Nick Darlington wrote:

     

    This is something that is already addressed in version 14.3 but we're aware some customers are still upgrading to 14.2 instead, or due to previous version 'best practices' for upgrades that took place, have a tendency to still do each version upgrade on the way to a version like 14.3 in increments (e.g. from 13.3 to 14.1, 14.1 to 14.2, then 14.2 to 14.3) instead of letting the 14.3 upgrade procedure do it automatically from the prior version like 13.3 all the way through.

     

    In those other cases (upgrading only to 14.2, or doing it as part of an incremental upgrade process,) it is very important to know about the following problem and workaround, otherwise you can have users complaining about their saved filters being lost.  If that happens, then without a database backup, those filters could not be recovered again.

     

    Why some Saved filters, Saved Job Parameters, Saved Report Parameters are removed with the upgrade to 14.2?



  • 4.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-30-2015 02:24 PM

    Thank You Nick. This just saved me a bunch of future heartache.



  • 5.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-30-2015 02:31 PM

    You're very welcome.  Hopefully most will go 'straight' to 14.3+ (letting it handle 14.2 and avoiding this problem itself along the way), but I realise enough people won't for one reason or another.



  • 6.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-30-2015 02:37 PM

    This post has to be seen by everybody who goes directly to 14.2. Sometimes the issue will also not come up immediately as users who test the upgrade may not be the same as the ones who have the filters. In any cases the workaround is simple and works perfectly. Thank you for sharing it.



  • 7.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-30-2015 03:57 PM

    Thanks  nick_darlington

    So what do you do if you already upgraded to 14.2, but do not plan to upgrade to 14.3 in the immediate future?



  • 8.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-30-2015 04:15 PM

    Without a pre-upgrade database backup being available, the only recourse is to create the filters again.

     

    If a backup is available, then a modified version of the workaround involving the backup schema's cmn_attribute_value_sets table data to fill in the gaps for records in cmn_attribute_values with orphaned values in the attribute_set_id column would need to be used.

     

    Given the differences in how that process might be performed (MSSQL vs Oracle and whether the table from the backup is temporarily restored to the existing schema under a different name or in its own schema and needing to be referenced by a user that has permissions to both old and new schemas, amongst other situations), it would be better if we helped walk through that procedure on a case-by-case basis via a support issue than try to provide a generic solution to follow for that.



  • 9.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-30-2015 04:43 PM

    Is the tag

    Content tagged with tec1214402

    referring to a TexDoc which is not in the Support Online KB?



  • 10.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-30-2015 05:28 PM

    Something caused your post to get truncated somehow, I saw the original when I edit yours or look at my emails as the following:

     

    urmas wrote:

     

    Is the tag

    referring to a TexDoc which is not in the Support Online KB?

     

    It is there - or should be.  It is the same link I gave in the original post and shows for me without needing to be logged in (publicly available): http://www.ca.com/us/support/ca-support-online/product-content/knowledgebase-articles/tec1214402.aspx

     

    Do those links work for you?



  • 11.  Re: Saved filters being deleted during upgrade to 14.2

    Posted 10-31-2015 03:10 AM

    Thanks. The link works and now the search from KB for works as well. Yesterday it may have been a response time of one minute or more. Seems sluggish now as well but not that slow.