DX Unified Infrastructure Management

Expand all | Collapse all

Need help with LUA script to run command remotely on monitored machine

• 1.  Need help with LUA script to run command remotely on monitored machine

Posted Aug 16, 2012 12:25 PM

Hi all

My first ever post so apologies if this has already been asked.

The issue I have is

• I am monitoring a Postcode service via urlresponse
    • Every now and then that service fails
    • the actual service keeps running but is does not work correctly so the URLrespons alerts(so ntservice probe no use)
    • I would like a way of restarting the service on the remote machine running the Postcode service if I get an alert from URL reponse probe
    • I think LUA may be the way to go here but I have zero knowledge of this(will try and learn)

Hope this is enough for you to understand my issue

Thanks in advance for any help you can give me

Keith

• 2.  Re: Need help with LUA script to run command remotely on monitored machine

Posted Aug 16, 2012 01:58 PM

Hi Keith,

well, should be the same way, as the posting you find propably, as far as I understand that.

The nexec-probe should be your friend, with it you define the script or command you would like to run.

From the nas you do a script out of the alarm which runs the nexec profile.

I just wrote something like that, where I check a windows-service via a rsp-probe and if the service is not running I run a script which fires a nexec profile, which (lotsa which) runs the command that starts the remote service again.

I can put a bunch of hardcopies together if I have the time to show the steps, only disadvantage is that some things could be in german :-/

cheers

Matthias

• 3.  Re: Need help with LUA script to run command remotely on monitored machine

Posted Aug 16, 2012 02:05 PM

Matthias

Thanks for the reply